The Troy Township Republican Committee is the official Republican Party organization for Troy Township in Will County, Illinois.  We are comprised of both elected precinct committeemen, appointed precinct committeemen, and at-large committeemen and friends who believe in the same general ideals.


The TTRC meets at 7pm every 4th Wednesday of the month at various locations throughout Troy Township.   Meeting dates and locations are regularly updated on this website.  TTRC typically does not, typically, meet in June, July and December.


The organization’s main purposes are to promote the principles of the Republican Party, to help elect Republican candidates within Troy Township at all levels (including county and national), to promote responsible government and good citizenship, and to provide service to the people of Troy Township.  We help and support worthy candidates running for offices throughout Troy Township, including those candidates whose districts include Shorewood, Joliet, Plainfield, Channahon and Minooka.


The Republican Party was founded in the early 1850’s by anti-slavery activists and individuals who believed that government should grant western lands to settlers free of charge.  The first informal meeting of the party took place in Ripon, Wisconsin, a small town northwest of Milwaukee.  The first official Republican meeting took place on July 6, 1854, in Jackson, Michigan. The name “Republican” was chosen because it alluded to equality and reminded individuals of Thomas Jefferson’s Democratic-Republican Party.  At the Jackson convention, the new party adopted a platform and nominated candidates for office in Michigan.


In 1856, the Republicans became a national party when John C. Fremont was nominated for President under the slogan, “Free soil, free labor, free speech, free men, Fremont.”  Even though they were considered a “third party” (the Democrats and Whigs represented the two-party system at the time), Fremont received 33% of the vote.  Four years later, Abraham Lincoln became the first Republican to win the White House.


Chairman:  Bryan Kopman

Vice-Chairman:  Kristin Cross

Treasurer:  Joe Baltz

Secretary:  Dawn Damiani

Executive Committeeman:  John Kochalka

Executive Committeeman:  Owen McCarthy

Executive Committeeman:  Orville Elza



Troy Precinct 3: Arnold "Arnie" Forrest

Troy Precinct 5: John Kochalka

Troy Precinct 6: Dorothy "Dottie" MacQueen

Troy Precinct 8: Steve Orlando

Troy Precinct 9: Kristin D. Cross

Troy Precinct 10: Jerry Bene

Troy Precinct 11: Jim Alaimo

Troy Precinct 12: Rick Keca

Troy Precinct 13: Jerome "Jerry" Nudera

Troy Precinct 14: Joe Baltz

Troy Precinct 15: Dawn Damiani

Troy Precinct 17: Bryan Kopman

Troy Precinct 18: Orville Elza

Troy Precinct 20: Patty Kalkanis

Troy Precinct 21: Frank Cservenyak

Troy Precinct 22: Owen McCarthy


(To find your Troy Township precinct, click here or here.)


Please join us each month for our Troy Twp. Republican Committee meetings.  We meet on the 4th Wednesday* of each month at a designated location around Troy Township. 







Our meetings start at 7pm and are open to the public.

We hope to see you there!

*Unless Otherwise Announced on our Home Page.


For information on how and where you can register to vote, click here.

Join the TTRC
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now